College Website Design

14 09 2008

Here is my stint with CSS Style Sheets

I got bored once, and decided I should do something creative. I like to play with colours and design stuff (already designed two logos – one still in use and the other bathed in controversy). I also had Dreamweaver, so I though why not try it out.

I leeched the site using HTTrack. But it turns out that since a CMS (content management system) is in use, only HTML files that are generated are copied – although I did get two CSS sheets. I sat and edited these things, and it turned out quite neat. A mail to the Systems Manager and a reply 🙂

I went to him and got the XHTML template. ModX uses this as the basic template. The CSS things are addons.

I edited most of the CSS again – using the one I already had. The trick was to be able to get sub-menus while retaining the highlight on the main menu. I googled a lot and got this 
li:hover>a
That does the trick 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

