How to remove Vista Bootloader

2 11 2008

It was fun…

It all started one year ago

I tried out iatkos a mac osx port for pc..
It installed its own darwin bootloader
It looked good… but I couldnt get sound to work
It had to go

My way of removing stuff – right click on disk… format.. BAD thing to do 🙂

Darwin goes away with the formatting, but apparently it overwrote my default Intel Boot manager or something like that… so my comp wouldnt boot now 🙂

Tried XP CD first… fixmbr fixboot…………… DIDNT WORK
Tried Ubuntu CD ………………………………….. DIDNT recognize XP
Tried Vista DVD …………………………………… FIXED (repair startup problems)… oh well back to normal work

Then, today morning, I get bored of VISTA… I am running out of HDD space… not using VISTA anyway, so need to remove… I put in the XP cd… fixmbr fixboot… comp gets screwed again – exactly like one year ago 🙂

So, I borrow a friend’s vista dvd (upgrade packs can also boot)… put it in… repair startup problems… restart… it outputs junk characters instead of starting 🙂 … I am also hungry by this time.. .having coded a MEX implementation of DTW for 5 hours the previous night…(it had a 10x speed-up 🙂 )

among the things I tried that didnt work
1. Default all options in BIOS
2. bootrec.exe from VISTA dvd /fixmbr and /fixboot
3. fixntfs -xp (If only I was in XP)

Finally, what did work was this

In the Vista (assuming d:)

D:\>cd Boot

D:\Boot\>bootsect /nt52 c:

C: was where XP was…

This did two things –
1. Fixed the bootloader
2. Removed Vista BCD bootloader and put XP

Aaah… what a fine day for (computer) science 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

